Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE) is a mandatory subject in Years 7-10, it contributes significantly to the cognitive, social, emotional, physical and spiritual development of students.

Through the study of Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PHDPE) courses, students develop the knowledge, understanding, skills and attitudes needed to take action to protect and enhance their own and others’ health, safety and wellbeing in varied and changing contexts. Physical education is fundamental to the acquisition of movement skills and concepts to enable students to participate in a range of physical activities – confidently, competently and creatively. (NESA PDHPE Syllabus)

The goal of this subject is to help individuals seek that pattern of behaviour, which directs them toward their optimum level of lifestyle and to develop the whole person.

Learning in PDHPE encourages young people to take a positive approach to managing their lives and equips them with skills for current and future challenges.

The knowledge, understanding and skills developed provide a foundation of a wider range of study pathways beyond school and also have applications in a number of vocational areas.

PDHPE elective subjects:

Stage 5 (Year 9-10)

Physical Activity and Sports Studies (PASS)

Child Studies

Stage 6 (Year 11-12)

Senior PDHPE (2 Unit)

Community and Family Studies (CAFS) – (2 unit)

Exploring Early Childhood (EEC) – (Non ATAR)

Sports Lifestyle and Recreation (SLR) – (Non ATAR)